LOGIN

Book Review: Geddy Lee’s Journey from Rock Stardom to Self-Reflection in ‘My Effin’ Life’

by Ryan Lee
0 comment
Geddy Lee memoir

Geddy Lee, a renowned rock star and emblematic Canadian, presents his memoir, ‘My Effin’ Life’, which captures his essence as a revered figure in the music world. This autobiography, while not overly risqué in its title, offers a captivating narrative about Lee’s rise from a self-proclaimed underachiever to a celebrated member of the Rock & Roll Hall of Fame as a vocalist, bassist, and keyboard player of the iconic progressive rock band Rush. The book is a must-read for those intrigued by the evolution of prog-rock or the music landscape from the 1970s and beyond.

Spanning 400 pages, the memoir is an in-depth, intricately detailed account, reflecting the meticulous nature of Lee, who jokingly refers to himself as “Mr. Bossypants.” He shares his relentless pursuit of perfection in music-making, underlining his unwillingness to tolerate errors in his work, constantly aiming for the highest standards.

Lee’s narrative is enriched with personal memorabilia, including handwritten lyrics, casual sketches, and private emails, which chart the band’s journey through an era before MTV, progressive radio networks, and understanding critics. The book takes readers on a chronological journey with the band, including members Alex Lifeson and Neil Peart, as they evolve from humble beginnings to achieving worldwide fame. Lee doesn’t shy away from discussing the band’s unique fashion choices, like wearing kimonos, and their encounters with drug use.

Rush is portrayed as a band that drew inspiration from diverse sources, ranging from science fiction authors like Robert A. Heinlein and J.R.R. Tolkien to philosophical figures like Ayn Rand and Jean-Paul Sartre. The memoir also offers valuable insights and advice for aspiring musicians, emphasizing the importance of retaining creative control and being cautious of the music industry’s pitfalls.

A fascinating aspect of Lee’s story is his passion for audio equipment and fine wine, with anecdotes like his appreciation of a 1978 Musigny wine. The memoir also includes an intimate glimpse into his personal life, showcasing a photograph of the moment he first kissed his future wife, Nancy, a relationship spanning over five decades.

Lee candidly discusses his interactions with other musicians and producers, including Billy Preston and Steve Lillywhite, while also introspectively examining his own flaws and the band’s missteps, particularly with the album “Vapor Trails.”

His background as the son of Holocaust survivors deeply influences his narrative. Born Gershon Eliezer Weinrib in Toronto, Lee’s heritage profoundly impacts his life and artistry. He dedicates a significant portion of the book to detailing his parents’ harrowing experiences during the Holocaust, which profoundly shaped his early vocal style and personal development.

The memoir doesn’t shy away from touching upon tragedies, especially those affecting his bandmate Neil Peart. It concludes with a poignant scene in a Toronto cemetery, where Lee introduces his grandson to his ancestors, symbolizing the intersection of past and future.

‘My Effin’ Life’ is a deeply moving, engaging, and rewarding read, offering a comprehensive look into the life of a rock legend and the intricate dynamics of one of the most influential bands in rock history.


Mark Kennedy is available at Mark Kennedy’s Twitter


For more AP book reviews, visit AP Book Reviews

Frequently Asked Questions (FAQs) about Geddy Lee memoir

What is Geddy Lee’s memoir ‘My Effin’ Life’ about?

‘My Effin’ Life’ is an autobiography by Geddy Lee, the renowned vocalist, bassist, and keyboard player of the progressive rock band Rush. The book delves into Lee’s personal and professional journey, covering his evolution from an underachiever to a Rock & Roll Hall of Fame member. It includes personal anecdotes, insights into the music industry, and Lee’s experiences as a musician and individual, including his background as the son of Holocaust survivors.

Who should read ‘My Effin’ Life’?

The memoir is ideal for fans of Rush, enthusiasts of progressive rock, and anyone interested in the music scene from the 1970s onwards. It’s also a great read for aspiring musicians and those interested in personal narratives of overcoming challenges and achieving success in the music industry.

Does the memoir include details about Rush’s band members?

Yes, ‘My Effin’ Life’ includes details about Rush’s other members, Alex Lifeson and Neil Peart. The book chronicles their collective experiences, from their early days touring to their rise to fame, offering a comprehensive look at the band’s history and dynamics.

What unique elements does Geddy Lee include in his memoir?

Lee enriches his memoir with personal items such as handwritten lyric sheets, studio doodles, private emails, and photographs. These elements offer an intimate glimpse into his life and the behind-the-scenes aspects of Rush’s music-making process.

How does Geddy Lee’s background influence the memoir?

Lee’s background, particularly being born to Holocaust survivor parents, profoundly influences the narrative. He dedicates a significant portion of the book to discussing his parents’ experiences during the Holocaust and how these events echoed throughout his life and influenced his artistic expression.

More about Geddy Lee memoir

You may also like

Leave a Comment

logo-site-white

BNB – Big Big News is a news portal that offers the latest news from around the world. BNB – Big Big News focuses on providing readers with the most up-to-date information from the U.S. and abroad, covering a wide range of topics, including politics, sports, entertainment, business, health, and more.

Editors' Picks

Latest News

© 2023 BBN – Big Big News